Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

Windscreen Blackout

7K views 19 replies 13 participants last post by  Dinger250R 
#1 · (Edited)
Decided to blackout my windscreen. I never tuck so tight that i look through it (ouch, neck cramp) so I blacked it out 100%. Makes the tach and speedo look better in the daytime in my opinion. Also Installed a new Sylvania Silverstar Ultra H4 headlight bulb while I had it all apart.

See less See more
Reactions: shisoshin
#5 ·
Nice job Mongoose. I'm seriously thinking of blackening my stock screen as well. Hopeing it will be less expensive than purchasing a new one. I have never done this before and I know it can be tricky. What tips can you give me with this DIY tinting task??? :confused::D Thanks in advance.

#6 ·
remove the windscreen (that was the hardest part)
wet sand the back side of the screen with 1000 grit
wash screen with dish soap, rinse and let dry
i used krylon fusion gloss black, about 5 light coats on the back side (80+ degree day with no wind is best unless you got a shop)
be careful not to spray the front, i kept a wet rag nearby just in case
follow with krylon fusion clear about 5 min after your last color coat... apply 3-4 light coats
let dry for 1 week
reassemble

Reactions: Born2Run
#7 ·
Great job Mongoose!

If I used lots of tarps and tape, would it be possible to do this without wind screen removal?

I remember the Plasti-Dip guy did it this way. Anyone else? What's your experience with Plasti-Dip overall? I never heard of this product until this forum. I like the look of a blacked out screen but am not sure if I want to go through the wind screen removal hassle.

Also, on another note, I have a general question about the Plasti-Dip guy. I have read many threads on this forum and have concluded that 1. He used to be a member and 2. He was banned.

I have watched most of his You Tube videos (Cycle Cruuuuuuza :0)) and IMO they are great- very informative and well done. What did he do to get the boot?