Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

Brand new rider: first bike - CBR250R or Ninja 250R?

25K views 36 replies 21 participants last post by  etiainen 
#1 ·
Hey CBR250.net :D

I am a potentially brand new rider; never ridden a motorcyle and looking into possibly riding. I live in Pittsburgh, where the roads arent so great and the weather is really only suited for riding about 6 months/year so I am looking at affordable entry level bikes.

I am not afraid of popping the front wheels up, but as a beginner I would greatly prefer to have less HP so I am looking at 250s. Honda, as MotoGP world champion constructor really appeals to me because of their motorpsorts heritage. Also, because I am looking at a 250, I have to choose basically between a Ninja and a CBR. The question is - what are the pro's and cons of the CBR?

I like that the CBR is fuel injected, has optional ABS (especially for rain riding, which can crop up around here for sure) and is lighter/gets better MPG. However, even though its got a punchy torquey engine, its lower on power and higher on vibration than the Ninja.

The Ninja on the other hand is outdated carburetor, but has more power and is easier to ride, but heavier. I read some reviews that showed the Ninja was alot more planted and stable under braking than the CBR, possibly due to the weight - but the Ninja has been tried and true and still ranks to be the best of the 250's.

Basically, I just want to see if anyone who has bought a CBR250 has really wished they got a Ninja, and vice versa. Happy owners, content owners, and perhaps some malcontent owners, chime in!

also, if anyone has the optional ABS, what do you think of it? Too invasive? Just right?

See less See more
#2 ·
Love my CBR and, as I just found out, it handles pretty good in the rain. **** rain.

#4 ·
I don't know of ANY CBR owners that went to a Ninja...
I *do* know of a few Ninja owners that have switched to the CBR...

... Right Frank?

My riding buddy and I:

Then:

And, Now: