Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

Hello from Yokosuka Japan!

8K views 33 replies 6 participants last post by  JacobAllison 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone!

I've been riding for a while on my 1988 Honda VTZ250 (JDM-spec VTR-250 Interceptor Naked) and I've gotten pretty fed up with maintenance, especially carbs. Also, I just don't fit that well on the old Japanese-spec VTZ.

I recently found a 2011 CBR250R-J Tricolor for sale on one of the local FB resale pages and went to take a look and a test ride. The price was great and I made an offer and it was accepted. I'll be picking her up Thursday!

She does need a bit of work- she's been unridden for a number of months and needs a new chain and battery and probably new tires. I'll be getting an EK QX-series chain and Bridgestone S20 Evo tires, unless anyone has other suggestions for me. Grips will be replaced with Renthal Diamond Pro grips and the stock end-weights.

After that, I'll be looking into replacing the clipons, rearsets and seat. She may need a new coat of paint as the clear-coat is a bit faded, but we'll see how she looks after a good bath and wax.

Primary reason for registering is so I can see photos in threads, and it seemed silly not to start posting a bit at least.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi Jacob. That make three of us active on both VTR and CBR forums now, you, me and Spot. Shame you had the problem with your VTZ, the one I ran for eight years was largely trouble free, just a dirty connection taking out the indicators and horn and a worn cam chain replaced on the rear cylinder.
Looks like the previous owner of your CBR has had a bit of a thing for white paint but that hopefully indicates the bike's had enthusiasm and care in it's life. When you get out on it you'll probably find it a lot less frantic above 60mph than the VTZ.

#4 ·
Hah! I knew I'd seen Spot!