Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

Abs?

12K views 41 replies 20 participants last post by  Luke 
#1 ·
I've been riding for about 10 years or so and have never owned a bike with ABS. Just wondering if ABS is really worth it or is it more for a beginner?

#2 ·
I don't think you can buy a car these days without abs. I would rather have it in an emergency than not. Up until recently, only the high end bikes had it and there are consumer reports out there that say ABS reduces fatalities by around 30%. If you do a search on this forum you'll dredge up about 10 threads on the topic.

Reactions: atakacs
#3 ·
cracker, im a re-entry motorcyclist after 4 road hondas then
an enforced break.. also never experienced abs, but researching
this system before buying again i was impressed with reviews from
experienced riders, mc journos etc, together with my own reviews of
the system itself [design etc]..

still had some slight reservation as to perhaps losing some rider control
but decided for the abs, esp when a used black [preferred - 600km only]
abs model came up for a very good price plus good shark helmet, good
alpinestars jacket and gloves thrown in as inducement for my cash..

anyway, normal or typical suburban riding, with some care after years
out of the saddle etc, and learning this bike, and the brakes worked
like non abs, with rear perhaps feeling bit weak [good for surburbia etc]..

when nutcases in tin boxes tried to get us tho, my pre-existing skills
developed over decades of riding kicked in [to my great satisfaction :) ]
and the abs brakes did their job [i was going to say flawlessly] very well..
testing them out i found i coiuld make the rear wheel do little 'hops'
by stepping on it hard at fairly low speeds, otherwise good as gold..

first emergency use was overtaking a truck parked on my road [uphill]
noone in it facing me on my side of the road, after acellerating into my
street but still not high speed a bloke walked straight out from behind it