Drivetrain Slop? - Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums
» Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2012, 01:36 PM   #1

Default Drivetrain Slop?

Greetings all....

Just getting back into riding after 15 years and test rode a BRAND NEW (1km) CBR250 2012 yesterday. It has been so long that I was pretty shaky for most of my ride. So you can get an idea of my experience at this point.

I do know my throttle control, though and I was very smooth with it. However, the whole drive train would 'clunk' at the slightest movement if i reduced the power (if I was under power) or if I changed from even light deceleration to adding even the lightest touch of power. Is this pretty normal for this bike?

I did check the chain before I started riding. It had about 1.25" of play give or take a bit. Are my expectations of smooth transitions unrealistic or is there something out of adjustment here?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-03-2012, 03:19 PM   #2

Yeah, I get the same 'slop' feeling with mine. I got the chain tightened up and it did improve but very slightly.
I can't say if this is normal 'cos I don't know anyone else with the 250 around here. So am anxious to hear of other replies to this post
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 05-03-2012, 03:34 PM   #3
TBC

No slop in mine. Sure you were right gear for the rpm,s you were in? Or the right speed for what rpm's you were in?
Old 05-03-2012, 07:01 PM   #4