Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

Does experience really come with age?

14K views 111 replies 63 participants last post by  JMS 
#1 ·
In reading many of the posts, it is good to see the diverse group that we are as riders. Particularly striking (at least to me) are the number of posts in which we learn that the rider is (1) over 40 years old and (2) riding for the first time. I fall into this category...age 54 and my first motorcycle.

So, if I may be so impertinent as to ask: what is your age and what is your level of riding experience? :eek:

#40 ·
Yes, experience does come with age. It's like anything else, usually, the longer you do something, the more you learn about it, and the more proficient you become. When I first started riding bikes on the road, because I'd read all the motorcycle mags, and learnt all the stats, I thought that I knew it all. The fact is, I'm still learning. I started riding off road in my early teens, was riding a moped on road at 16 and passed my motorcycle test in 1984. I've had the odd break of a year or so, here and there, but I've always been drawn back to riding motorcycles because 1, it's an addiction, and 2, it's practical, cheap transport. I'm 47 now, 48 next month, and I wouldn't be here now, if I hadn't learnt from my foolish mistakes I used to make when I first started riding. Most of my riding is commuting, and I love it. Quite a few other riders can't understand why I really enjoy riding my bike to work and back in busy traffic, but to me, it's a fantastic way of starting and ending a busy day at work. My commute is roughly 15 miles each way. In the morning, I usually ride in on slow roads, and in the evening, I use the Motorway. I arrive at work in the morning in a good mood, as I've usually enjoyed the ride in, especially if the weather's good, and got through any traffic that I'd be stuck in in a car. In the evening, I get home in a good mood, after filtering through the first part of my journey at slow speed, then opening he