Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

Bad habits

8K views 40 replies 26 participants last post by  olhogrider 
#1 ·
I have made it known that I am very much new to riding. I have been riding around my yard, a nearby parking lot and in my neighborhood. I take my msf course this weekend. I keep hearing talk of "bad habits" that we're exposed after taking msf course. What exactly are these bad habits.

#2 · (Edited)
The MSF course will probably clarify a lot of things. You might ask that question and ask for specific examples.

I just completed the course a few weeks ago. I am glad I took it and didn't try to learn from someone else. Lots of information to absorb in the class. Ask lots of questions.

I assume bad habits are things you get used to doing that are not the safest things to be doing, especially when you get into a pinch. THey may work most of the time, until something happens.

Even though I am a novice, I would offer a specific example--primarily using the rear brake to stop. They hammered that into us during the class. Always use both brakes, unless you are doing really low speed manuevres, where a light touch on the rear brakes is better than grabbing a handfull of front brake and falling over.