New rider scared to rev high... - Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums
User Tag List

18Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 04-17-2017, 11:18 PM Thread Starter

Garage
New rider scared to rev high...

I'm a new rider - got my first bike, 2012 tri-color CBR250R last week, and I've been riding it everywhere I can. I am also scared to rev the engine above 6,000 RPM, because it gets so loud, and sounds like the engine might explode! I know that it's just the nature of a high-revving engine - what I can liken the sound to is when I first drove a Honda Civic Si; I was scared it too might blow up...

I know it's ok to take the engine all the way up into its power band, but I suppose I need some reassurance from you guys that it's fine. The bike is mechanically sound, with zero issues, and around 8,200 miles. I'm not looking to go fast right now as I'm still learning - but I feel like I'm short-shifting each time I ride. I'd appreciate your input and advice!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 04-18-2017, 01:28 AM

Have you signed up for a MSF riding course, yet? If nothing else, you will meet riders (instructors) who can tell by listening if all is well with your bike.
How do you know it is mechanically sound? Have you had it in the shop since you bought it?

Does it have an aftermarket muffler on it? If so, scare up a used original and put it on. You will find it is a completely different motorcycle. The OEM muffler is quite heavy, but it includes the catalytic convertor, and a well-damped muffler.
Quite possible that is where your noise is coming from.

You can hurt the engine if you lug it (run it at low RPM).
pooder7 likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(no affilliation)
post #3 of 30 Old 04-18-2017, 02:42 PM