Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

cbr300r ECU

7K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  mwlehman 
#1 ·
ok, so I bought another 2012 cbr250r in key west..couldn`t turn it down, $1600 for a 2012 red/silver w/14k miles...needed a little cleaning but looks nice now...anyway me being cheap and looking for way to improve performance I bought a used 300r ecu to slap on..did not get ecu yet but it was $46 shipped from ebay..I will post whether it works out of not.

any thoughts ?

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Im no mechanic but I don't think this is a good idea. Yes the 300 (actually 286) is similar but its engine map will not run well on the 250. It will run rich if it works at all. The cams could also have different degrees, probably not, and the timings would be off. That could lead to engine failure/ damage from knock or burning the valves. The main connectors could also be slightly different and not plug in at all. If you really want more performance for cheap you might be able to find a place that can reflash the ecu with a new map but I don't know of any that do it for our babyblade. Again I really suggest just getting a piggyback ecu like a PCV or juicebox. Goodluck!

#3 ·
Thanks for reply, I gave those things some consideration but from what I read they only increased the bore...but you know how that is..lol...

I am going to give it some more thought, but knowing me I will just plug the thing in and go, if it screws things up it will be a good excuse to build another motor

#4 ·
I am going to give it some more thought, but knowing me I will just plug the thing in and go, if it screws things up it will be a good excuse to build another motor
Is it only me, or do it look a bit like, you are hoping for a "srcew up"?
And the 300 ECU is only the first thing, you want from the 300 series?
:wink2:

#10 ·
Probably trying to figure out why it won't run right. :p