This is where the fuses on your bike are located - Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums
User Tag List

 2Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-21-2014, 03:27 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
600k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South NJ
Posts: 504
Thanks: 10
Thanked 195 Times in 109 Posts
This is where the fuses on your bike are located

If you remove the rider seat, you can see both fuse box locations.



The fuse box contains 6, 10 amp fuses. 5 are in use and one is a spare. The flip top on the fuse box is labeled for each fuse.



To find the main fuse, you have to lift the rubber cap and gain access to the red plastic connector. Take note, the green fuse in the rubber holder (shown, pictured bottom) is a spare.





The easiest way I could find to access the main fuse was to remove the bodywork, gas tank and air box. The air box is very tight to the main fuse holder.



Squeeze the tabs in on the red plastic connector and remove it from the block. NOW you can find the MAIN FUSE. It is well hidden. See the main fuse and the spare in this picture?



What a PITA the main fuse is to get to!
600k2 is offline  
The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to 600k2 For This Useful Post:
Aufitt (01-26-2014), DamianW (01-21-2014), Erick BerMont (10-05-2017), Hassleschroff (06-05-2014), i3017bgarcia (01-21-2014), isaacm12 (04-11-2015), jkv357 (03-01-2016), Joeboo (01-21-2014), Phil A (01-25-2014), Steve_47 (01-25-2014), Stichill (06-08-2014), Swol (04-11-2015), Wynne G Oldman (01-25-2014)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-21-2014, 03:34 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
600k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South NJ
Posts: 504
Thanks: 10
Thanked 195 Times in 109 Posts
If you hooked up the battery terminals backwards, hooked up jumper cables backwards, shorted a metal object across the terminals, shorted the power/ignition wires on the bike, tried to start your bike off of a running automobile, or severely ****************************** up something electrical, I would check the main fuse (and other fuses) first. The FIRST step in troubleshooting ANY electrical problem is to check the fuses.
600k2 is offline  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to 600k2 For This Useful Post:
easternsun (01-21-2014), i3017bgarcia (01-21-2014), MotoMike (01-24-2014), Phil A (01-25-2014), Top (01-21-2014), Wynne G Oldman (01-22-2014)
post #3 of 16 Old 01-24-2014, 10:31 PM
Super Moderator
 
MotoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 9000 ft. ASL in Southwest Colorado, USA
Posts: 6,901
Thanks: 1,433
Thanked 3,643 Times in 1,938 Posts
Excellent thread... it's now a sticky at the top of the Problems & Issues forum.
Gecko1962 likes this.

Former Factory Test Rider/Technician

Last edited by MotoMike; 01-24-2014 at 10:55 PM.
MotoMike is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MotoMike For This Useful Post:
AwwShucks (06-24-2014), Phil A (06-05-2014)
 
post #4 of 16 Old 01-25-2014, 02:41 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,291
Thanks: 1,283
Thanked 570 Times in 375 Posts
Wow, I was going to complain about how dark the pictures were, until now, I looked at this thread at work!
I think I need a new monitor at home...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(no affilliation)
don'tpanic is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-25-2014, 05:38 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
600k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South NJ
Posts: 504
Thanks: 10
Thanked 195 Times in 109 Posts
Glad I could contribute. I took the pictures with my cell phone camera so they are not the greatest, sorry.
600k2 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-25-2014, 07:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Phil A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chatanooga, Tn
Posts: 830
Thanks: 238
Thanked 210 Times in 138 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 600k2 View Post
Glad I could contribute. I took the pictures with my cell phone camera so they are not the greatest, sorry.
Pics are fine...don't think you were trying for something to hang in a museum...lol...Thanks for the info...I'd never bothered to look for them...figured it would be obvious..it wasn't...thanks again.
Gecko1962 likes this.

"A man who carries a cat by the tail learns something he can learn in no other way." Mark Twain
Phil A is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Phil A For This Useful Post:
don'tpanic (01-25-2014)
post #7 of 16 Old 01-25-2014, 11:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 610
Thanks: 143
Thanked 117 Times in 94 Posts
Never realized so much would need to be removed to change the main fuse.

2012 CBR250R The little bike that could.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Steve_47 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-26-2014, 01:51 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
600k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South NJ
Posts: 504
Thanks: 10
Thanked 195 Times in 109 Posts
If you can get it out without removing the air box, I'd be impressed.
600k2 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-26-2014, 04:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,291
Thanks: 1,283
Thanked 570 Times in 375 Posts
It is hard to believe that that is the best location the designers could find for the main. It is nice that they give us a spare fuse, but it is hardly a roadside repair.

I can't wait to check this out when I remove my airbox for my shock swap.
Relocation would be nice, but with that harness on both sides of it, I am doubtful.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
(no affilliation)
don'tpanic is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 06-04-2014, 11:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Turbo DV8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 501
Thanks: 7
Thanked 96 Times in 57 Posts
If I was in that far into it at home, I would get down and dirty and splice extra lengths of wire of suitable gauge into both ends of the harness, and get that fuse box the hell outta there!
Turbo DV8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome