Switching Speedo Readout Mode Between MPH & km/h - Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums
User Tag List

 2Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2015, 10:17 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
MotoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 9000 ft. ASL in Southwest Colorado, USA
Posts: 6,904
Thanks: 1,433
Thanked 3,643 Times in 1,938 Posts
Switching Speedo Readout Mode Between MPH & km/h

It appears that Honda has a typographical error in the English language version of the 2012 CBR250R/RA Owner's Manual, regarding the procedure for changing the readout between MPH and km/h:

The first part is correct - Press and hold the Mode button for about 3 to 4 seconds, until the display starts flashing.

Then you press the Reset button (not the Mode button as the O/M instructs you to do) to switch between MPH and km/h readouts.

Once the display is flashing in whichever readout you want, you then press Mode and hold it for 3 to 4 seconds until the display stops flashing, which locks it on that readout.

Also as an FYI, it doesn't matter whether the engine is running or not in order to be able to switch between MPH and km/h readout modes... as long as the instrument cluster is powered up, the readout mode can be changed.

Last edited by MotoMike; 05-30-2015 at 10:35 PM. Reason: typo/clarification
MotoMike is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2015, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
CBR-250-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Thailand
Posts: 514
Thanks: 46
Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoMike View Post
....

Also as an FYI, it doesn't matter whether the engine is running or not in order to be able to switch between MPH and km/h readout modes... as long as the instrument cluster is powered up, the readout mode can be changed.

It only looks like, that some speedos can, and others can't be changed.
As I announced in another topic, I did try on one more Thailand CBR250R and ask some (4) people, to try it on mine.
Nothing make the mph show up.
The malaysia online manual I have, it isn't saying anything about switching options from km/h to mph.
CBR-250-R is offline  
Old 06-03-2015, 11:39 AM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
MotoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 9000 ft. ASL in Southwest Colorado, USA
Posts: 6,904
Thanks: 1,433
Thanked 3,643 Times in 1,938 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBR-250-R View Post
It only looks like, that some speedos can, and others can't be changed.
As I announced in another topic, I did try on one more Thailand CBR250R and ask some (4) people, to try it on mine.
Nothing make the mph show up.
The malaysia online manual I have, it isn't saying anything about switching options from km/h to mph.
It's certainly possible that Asian versions of these bikes don't have the switchable readout. I would imagine that many people in the Asian world probably have no idea what a "mile" is... and really why would they need to know that, or even care?

But, it's clear that the CBR's imported and sold throughout most of the Western world do have the ability to switch from km/h to MPH.
B7ACKTHORN likes this.

Last edited by MotoMike; 06-03-2015 at 11:42 AM.
MotoMike is online now  
 
Old 06-03-2015, 12:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Schroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,809
Thanks: 206
Thanked 356 Times in 293 Posts
I just tried to switch mine again but no luck. I could imagine that bikes that are sold to countries with miles have the switch option while those built for countries with km don't. But that's just a guess.

My computer is fighting Aids and Cancer in it's idle time, and yours?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Schroeder is offline  
Old 06-10-2015, 10:28 AM
Senior Member
 
theironhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: india
Posts: 256
Thanks: 113
Thanked 38 Times in 35 Posts
@moto mike . here if you press the mode button once it changes from ODO to trip meter. if you press it for long enough it will le you set time and nothing else. if you press the reset button for 3-4 second it resets the trip to zero.

it would be cool if i could switch it to mph

"A good long ride can clear your mind, restore your faith, and use up a lot of fuel."

RE Bullet 1977 - Current
Yam RX-100 1991 - Current
HH CBZ Classic 2003 - Current
Honda Activa 2004 - Current
Honda CBR 250R 2012 - Current
theironhorse is offline  
Old 06-10-2015, 12:46 PM Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
MotoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 9000 ft. ASL in Southwest Colorado, USA
Posts: 6,904
Thanks: 1,433
Thanked 3,643 Times in 1,938 Posts
So it's only US, Canada, and UK CBR's that have the ability to switch from km/h to MPH.
MotoMike is online now  
Old 06-10-2015, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
CBR-250-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Thailand
Posts: 514
Thanks: 46
Thanked 50 Times in 42 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by theironhorse View Post
...
if you press it for long enough it will le you set time and nothing else
....
Interesting!
The clock setting procedure for mine is different. Like mentioned in the (english malaysian manual):
"Push and hold both the MODE button
( ) and RESET button ( ) for more than
2 seconds. The clock will be set in the
adjust mode with the hour display
flashing."
CBR-250-R is offline  
Old 06-11-2015, 04:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Te Anau, New Zealand
Posts: 242
Thanks: 17
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MotoMike View Post
So it's only US, Canada, and UK CBR's that have the ability to switch from km/h to MPH.
According to my owners manual European, South African and Singapore models also have this facility.

My New Zealand model can't be changed so I would assume Australian models would be the same.

2013 CBR250R repsol (sold)
2014 CBR300R (sold)
2007 SV650 (track bike)
2004 XR250R (dirt bike)
2018 Ninja 400
kiwi rider is offline  
Old 06-11-2015, 05:36 AM
Senior Member
 
theironhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: india
Posts: 256
Thanks: 113
Thanked 38 Times in 35 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBR-250-R View Post
Interesting!
The clock setting procedure for mine is different. Like mentioned in the (english malaysian manual):
"Push and hold both the MODE button
( ) and RESET button ( ) for more than
2 seconds. The clock will be set in the
adjust mode with the hour display
flashing."
Indian models have these settings :

" odo mode" where is shows total km done.

mode : long press- time settings
reset : nothing happens.

" trip" mode where it shows trip km

mode : long press nothing happens
reset : long press resets the trip.

haven't tried long pressing both however i am sure nothing will happen. will still try and keep you posted.

"A good long ride can clear your mind, restore your faith, and use up a lot of fuel."

RE Bullet 1977 - Current
Yam RX-100 1991 - Current
HH CBZ Classic 2003 - Current
Honda Activa 2004 - Current
Honda CBR 250R 2012 - Current
theironhorse is offline  
Old 06-18-2015, 05:20 AM
Senior Member
 
theironhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: india
Posts: 256
Thanks: 113
Thanked 38 Times in 35 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBR-250-R View Post
Interesting!
The clock setting procedure for mine is different. Like mentioned in the (english malaysian manual):
"Push and hold both the MODE button
( ) and RESET button ( ) for more than
2 seconds. The clock will be set in the
adjust mode with the hour display
flashing."
i have tried every possible combination again .. no go .. so i assume we dont have this option in indian speedo's

"A good long ride can clear your mind, restore your faith, and use up a lot of fuel."

RE Bullet 1977 - Current
Yam RX-100 1991 - Current
HH CBZ Classic 2003 - Current
Honda Activa 2004 - Current
Honda CBR 250R 2012 - Current
theironhorse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Thread Tools



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome