Can someone vouch for this statement: "Avoid Frame Sliders" - Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums
User Tag List

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 06-17-2015, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
mbr

Garage
Can someone vouch for this statement: "Avoid Frame Sliders"

The person here is all about removing frame sliders that could bend your frame and getting cheaper to replace fairings, etc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=koXgwv31vZ8

I understand the logic behind all of what he said and it would probably make sense in my situation.

To provide some context and hopefully scope this thread to the anwers I'm looking for: I plan to use my bike strictly for commuting back and forth to work with a max highway speed of 65mph along an 8.5 mile stretch. Everywhere else is 45-55mph and there are at least 3 traffic circles (we love those out here, but Cottonwood loves them even more). Furthermore, I am new to the motorcycle world and as much as I'm going to strive to not get it laid down, in the event it does, I would like for the bike to be as cosmetically preserved as possible (isn't that why we get these?).

So I don't plan to be sliding at high speeds, or at all, anytime soon. However, as one commenter pointed out, there's a good chance of damage to the frame/engine sliding beyond 45+ mph.

I did also get a quote from my insurance company for full coverage (comes out to something like $21/mo). Noticed that was something very little discussed in the comments as well. It was like "oh, well duh, that's what insurance is for: accidents."

Anyways, would appreciate some feedback either way. Sounds like a reasonable thing to do and the Best Frame Slider topic/poll seems to point to Yoshimura as the preferred one
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 06-17-2015, 10:53 AM

Garage