Riding through the winter. - Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums
User Tag List

29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 10-25-2017, 03:49 PM Thread Starter

Riding through the winter.

Gentlemen, I've decided to ride the bike through the winter instead of store it. I don't have a proper place to store the bike currently (two sheds in the back yard that would possibly work decent) but since I'm new to riding and I see that some people do it, I want to ride through the winter to experience what it's like and judge rather or not I want that to be a regular thing I do in years to come. Anyone else here ride tear round that want to share some tips? Is there anything I should do to the bike in terms of preventative maintenance to ride through the cold season compared to the summer.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 10-25-2017, 03:54 PM Thread Starter

Who ride year round* not tear round
post #3 of 26 Old 10-25-2017, 04:21 PM

Depending on where you live it could be a real challenge. Are you talking cold weather or snow on the ground?

I ride cycles in the winter here in WI, but not on the street. My street bike riding is done shortly. There's enough traffic here that with any amount of snow on the ground it would be super dangerous. If I did ride on the street over the winter it would be on some type of small enduro and not my normal street bike.

If you haven't ridden in slippery conditions before I wouldn't take to the streets if there is snow. You will lose almost all of your ability to turn and brake with the front. Turning and braking is done more with the rear - that's why the enduro is a good choice because it's like riding on the dirt.

If you haven't ridden a dirt bike a fair amount, I would suggest you do so before venturing out in any real winter conditions.
shisoshin and greenaero like this.

post #4 of 26 Old 10-25-2017, 08:30 PM