Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums

Honda CBR250R Forum : Honda CBR 250 Forums (https://www.cbr250.net/forum/)
-   Honda CBR250 General Discussion (https://www.cbr250.net/forum/honda-cbr250-general-discussion/)
-   -   Finally done with maintenance for the winter. (https://www.cbr250.net/forum/honda-cbr250-general-discussion/66850-finally-done-maintenance-winter.html)

advantageous Jack 12-06-2017 05:09 PM

Finally done with maintenance for the winter.

5 Attachment(s)
This is my first year with a bike and have had a limited budget so Iíve not been able to get a stand for the bike to help with maintenance so Iíve had to do it a little ghetto. I got the chain from rusted to looking good just rolling the bike and scrubbing with copper brushes, nylon brushes, and WD 40 on the small area of the chain exposed - rotating the chain as I go along. Iíll post before and after photos and Iím wondering if the chain was too bad to begin with or fine. Also I cleaned the paint and waxed it and cleaned all the engine and underneath the bike from the outside as best as I could. The only thing left is pump up the tires before storing in the shed. What do you guys suggest the tires be pumped too for storage to prevent bald spots? And I also have the battery out on a battery tender once a week. We donít have a garage and Iíve read that the cbr batteries are ok so store inside, use on a tender and wonít be toxic. Iíve also read that you shouldnít charge them or store them inside but with it not being recommended to keep outside in the winter I donít know what to do exactly besides ask my parents if I can store it in their garage. Any suggestions?

lemmy99 12-07-2017 10:20 AM

Fill the fuel tank with regular non methanol gas and a dash of fuel stabilizer, run it to circulate the new gas if you didn't ride it back from the fuel station.

Ideally you want a paddock stand both ends so the tires don't rest on a cold floor in the same spot.