Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As some of you know, I'm brand new to the scene of bikes and riding (Yes I have taken & passed the MSF course), so this may seem like a stupid question.

I'm still having some trouble when shifting gears. Upshifting, not so much an issue, but downshifting is where I have problems.

My question is, how often do you guys use 1st gear? Is it basically just for starting out, and when you're coming to a complete (or almost complete) stop...or do you ever actually ride around in first gear?

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Manual states first gear up to 12mph.
Yeah, I know...but even when I shift down to first when I'm at or below 12mph, it still sometimes lurches forward a bit. I'm sure I'm probably doing something not quite right, I'm just curious as to what. Thanks though.

·
Registered
282 Posts
It will always "lurch" a bit going back to 1st, if you think too much let the clutch out slower or let it slip a little.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Just for starting out. I always downshift all the way down to first gear as I come to a complete stop, just because I have to start out again. It's the same principle as when driving a manual car, you don't ever want to downshift into 1st gear if the car is moving.
Thanks llory! I wish I could compare it to driving a manual car...I don't know how to do that either :eek:

·
Registered
112 Posts
Manual says 12mph and lower, but I also use 1st gear if I'm in bumper-to-bumper traffic and going slower than 20mph. I just play with the clutch a little bit. This avoids shifting between 1st and 2nd too much and helps me concentrate on the road more.

·
Registered
172 Posts
I am still parking lot bound but I do have a 5-speed car to compare.

I am pretty comfortable with 2nd gear for most everything but a dead stop. Same as in the car.

·
Registered
116 Posts