Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I’m new to bikes and bought a used 2012 CBR 250r from a buddy of mine so I know it was fine when I got it. Rode it a couple months then all of a sudden it just doesn’t want to shift past 4th. When I go to rise the shifter it just doesn’t budge. Thankfully I only use it around town so I never need to go much faster, but I have needed to before so I’m just wondering what’s going on. Thanks!

·
Registered
Honda: INNOVA125i(2010); CBR250R(2013)
744 Posts
Hello! I’m new to bikes and bought a used 2012 CBR 250r from a buddy of mine so I know it was fine when I got it. Rode it a couple months then all of a sudden it just doesn’t want to shift past 4th. When I go to rise the shifter it just doesn’t budge. Thankfully I only use it around town so I never need to go much faster, but I have needed to before so I’m just wondering what’s going on. Thanks!
Welcome to the forum. Do not use force. Maybe something sticks the forks in the gear drum. Warm the engine (be careful of heat, and burns), drain the hot oil and try to see what his color? If there is special residue? Maybe metal chips in oil? I would recommend rinsing the engine with cycle of new cheap semi-synthetic oil, warm up, drive a few miles on it, and empty it. If necessary, do an additional rinsing cycle with the cheap semi-synthetic oil. At the end I would even go for a full synthetic High quality oil.
After that procedure I hope your problem is solved for you.

·
Registered
744 Posts
That's not a common issue for the CBR.
YES
That's a common issue for all neglected motorcycles with a:
  • very old oil,
  • residue from burnt oil, metal chips, clutch pad chips...
  • or gear drum wear,
  • or poor quality oil...
That cause the gear drum to jam.

·
Registered
744 Posts
I would look closely at the linkage,
NO
If first four gears are working good, including the neutral,