Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fourm,

I feel like a total loser....got my brand new 2012 CBR250R with ABS and just went for my first ride. After 3.1 miles (about 10 minutes of riding), I was not able to get the bike going in first gear, it kept stalling. Is it possible I overheated the clutch?

I pulled over and could not even get the bike to go into neutral...nothing, i believe it is stuck in first gear. I have been riding for many years but am at a total loss to figure out what happened. The bike was running great for those brief 3.1 miles...and it was shifting just fine. It was a long walk home with the bike off, clutch engaged and rolling it back home. Talk about eating some humble pie! My old nighthawk was a tank....hoping this isn't a big problem with my brand new bike. The clutch is VERY sensitive and first gear is a lot tougher to get going in than the nighthawk...Thx for any suggestions/ideas...yeah, i know, this sounds crazy! :mad: matt

·
Registered
501 Posts
Seriously? First you should take it to the dealer, with 3.1 miles on it, they will have the correct answer for you.

·
Registered
1,503 Posts
+1 on taking it to the dealer or having them pick it up. I'm reasonable certain it's a correctable problem. I am absolutely certain that the dealer should fix it immediately.

·
Registered
1,503 Posts
Wait!!! I live really close to my dealer...AND my first name is Matt.... Holy S*it! My bike wont shift!

·
Registered
167 Posts
some bikes here(india) experienced shifting lever bent problem,due to hard shift at the initial phase-100km

be gentle with your bike during the initial phase.take it to the dealer,dont do any work yourself,they will replace almost every part,if the bike has done only 3.1miles,and

also go with your test rider as pillion,if they are offering a new bike.atleast you can see if there are any stall issues,doing this.