Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow CBR enthusiasts,
I'm basically a complete novice rider and have been doing a lot of thinking on purchasing my first ever new bike. Everything I read about the CBR250, from the expert reviews to your posts on this forum... makes me even want it more than ever.

However....

Until last weekend my idea on purchasing a motorcycle has been shattered due to what I had been exposed to.
I witnessed a crash that involved a cbr600 and an SUV (See pics below) and the rider had died on the scene from a fatal head-blow, since he wasn't wearing a helmet. The SUV was coming out of a 3-way junction and didn't watch out for the main road, where the motorcycle was at a high-speed and instantly rammed into it. They say it's 70% fault on the deceased rider and 30% on the SUV driver. Asides from all that, I literally got the chills seeing how the rider's life was taken away in a split of a second. I mean it could've happened to any other rider on the road. Of course someone might argue that had he worn his helmet, he would've survived the crash with some broken bones or what not...but that's not what concerns me now.
What concerns me is how fearful I am now and unsure to whether I take on this sport and be as careful as possible, or scratch the whole idea and please my entire family, who have been extremely against the idea...especially after this crash that made headlines across my town.

I'm basically reaching out for advice from the people who share my same passion toward this unique sport.

I'd truly appreciate anyone's input and help into solving my dilemma.

Much respect to everyone.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,089 Posts