Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. First post (outside of welcome area).

Well going to buy one. First bike. I'm sold after reading all the great things about it on the site. So my question is what should I buy? Totally new to motorcycles, and have never ridden one. I will complete my safety course in a couple weeks, and will try to put a deposit on a new bike in a few days...if not today.

I know what ABS is and its benefits, but would u recommend it to a complete Novice? Whats the benefits of NOT getting ABS for a new rider. I will use my bike for commuting (after I get used to it) for commuting 40 miles on the 118 in LA/Ventura county. It's a pretty tame highway compared to the 101 or 405.

I don't plan on getting another bike soon, so what do you guys think?

Thanx!

·
Registered
71 Posts
I have the ABS. I think the ABS works great( I've tested it out on gravel just so I know what it will feel like if it engages). This is also my first bike and I commute about 35 miles every day. I've found that it will only take once when some moron decides to cut me off and I will need to lock up the brakes. So I figure, being a new rider, I better be safe than sorry. Plus the price difference really just seems to make it worth while. Overall its you choice, hopefully I never have to use ABS, thats my goal. I think its worth the extra change if you aren't on a super tight budget. So yes I would reccomend it to a novice. I don't know of any advantages of not having ABS because hopefully you never use it anyways.
Good luck with your choice and congrats.
Ride Safe, Have Fun.

·
745 Posts
As always, my opinion:

ABS Pros