Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys

I'm new to the world of motorcycles, can someone please explain to me the "Pro-Link single shock rear suspension with five positions of spring preload adjustability"? Why and how would you adjust the rear suspension?

Thanks!

·
Banned
1,894 Posts
Some like it hard, some like it soft. Will change the feel of how the bike handles, as it affects its steering geometry and centre of gravity. Lowering it will make the suspension harder, but the bike more stable, and more responsive in the corners.

I'm in Thailand and the setting is for a 70kg rider. I'm 75kg and haven't played around with it yet.

BTW, the stock CBR feels perfectly stable when being pinned at an indicated 155kph.

·
745 Posts
There's a single shock in front of the rear wheel instead of the two on the side you may be used to seeing on some of the V-twins and on older-design bikes like the Honda Rebel. A circular sleeve on the shock has detents at different heights - by turning it, you can increase the preload on the shock.

Note that setting it tighter will not increase the bike's height - it just makes the spring a bit stiffer, meaning you have to put more weight on the seat before the shock starts to compress.

The "optimal" setting depends on your weight and how you ride. A heavier guy (or those adding things like bags) will want to dial up the preload so that the bike won't use half the suspension travel before he hits a bump. An aggressive rider will also dial it up so that it won't compress as much in hard cornering. Everything's a compromise - more preload = stiffer ride.