Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Nick from Brooklyn, NY. Nice forum you guys have here. I've bought a brand spanking new 2012 CBR250r though I am a novice at motorcycling. Took MSF, am licensed and insured.

While I know enough to get on a motorcycle and get going, I'm having trouble understanding some concepts, specifically downshifting. Upshifting is more or less no sweat. If the engine is sounding overworked, shift up. ! But to downshift, I have the problem of the bike lurching or having a sudden drop in speed.

"Blipping" the throttle after a downshift (which seems counterintuitive) seems to have helped me somewhat, or at least in, say, 2/10 instances, where I was getting 0/10 positive results before blipping. But I still don't understand how to match engine speed with the lower gear.

The reading I've found doesn't seem to explain it very well, and some people say listen to your motorcycle, but I'm sorry dude, that isn't helping. I don't know what that means, for upshifting yes, listen to the bike, for downshifting what am I listening for? What is the sequence of steps to ensure your bike transitions into lower gear smoothly?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Try letting the clutch out slower on downshifts, also it's helpful to watch how much the rpm's drop every gear change that will give you an idea on how much "blip" you give the throttle to have a smooth transition. I only blip the throttle if I downshift to accelerate faster. While coming to a stop or trying to slow down but don't really need to use the brakes much I downshift to let the engine' "compression braking" slow me I don't blip at all I just let the clutch out slower.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I've only been riding for a year, but from my experience I've learned that for smooth downshifting you just have to slowly release the clutch and then keep a steady throttle. That way you don't slow down too much or too fast.

·
Registered