Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone happen to have or know where I can find the curriculum for the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's Basic Rider course? I can't get into the ABATE class until spring (it sure fills up fast here!) and I want to get a head start since I am a beginner. Any help would be great!! :)

·
Registered
218 Posts
I am not sure exactly what you are looking for but when you do a google search using your exact phrase - motorcycle safety foundation basic rider course - there are some good links including a youtube video and a read only pdf file of the course.

·
Super Moderator
6,913 Posts
There is an excellent book titled Proficient Motorcycling The Ultimate Guide to Riding Well - by David L. Hough. It can be found on Amazon.
It's as good a self study guide as you will find anywhere. IMO, it should be on every riders must read list.
The author has served as a consultant to the MSF, the American Motorcyclist Association, the Motorcycle Riders Foundation, and numerous other motorcycle safety groups.

·
Registered
414 Posts
There is an excellent book titled Proficient Motorcycling The Ultimate Guide to Riding Well - by David L. Hough. It can be found on Amazon.
It's as good a self study guide as you will find anywhere. IMO, it should be on every riders must read list.
The author has served as a consultant to the MSF, the American Motorcyclist Association, the Motorcycle Riders Foundation, and numerous other motorcycle safety groups.
I second MotoMike's referral to Mr. Hough's book and other writings; you may also wish to Google Motorcycle Consumer News for which Mr. Hough wrote for a number of years.

·
Registered
357 Posts
I third this referral. any of Hough's books are a must for any rider. worth reading over when the snow is on the ground, too!

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
Exactly the book they give you when you do the test. Mine is still somewhere..