Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like the title says. I'm pretty nervous about it and afraid I'm going to mess things up. I was never into cars and I probably won't ever be.

But I want to work on my bike as much as I can. Should I take it to the mechanic instead?

If I should do it myself, should I buy everything (oil filter etc) from Honda?

My location is Cape Town, South Africa if there are any fellow countrymen out there.

For reference I will be following this video:

And what else should I do/know? Should I change the brake fluid? If so then link me the best possible video.

I will be browsing this forum and doing my due diligence. I am just a beginner and anxious about doing this.

·
Registered
87 Posts
It's the best way to learn about the bike. I've done mine since I got it. I don't think I ever took it back the dealer to have any services done. It's done over 25000km now and no trouble at all.

Make VERY SURE you have the oil filter the right way. These seem to be a common thing to be messed up and will destroy the motor. The little rubber seal goes towards the motor, it should hang on the little piece that sticks out and then the spring pushes it on there. All that will make sense once you have it apart.

The only other thing is to not overtighten the filter cover. I use a 1/4" drive ratchet as they only need to be done up snug, not too tight. If you have any leakage, just do them up a tiny bit more.

Good luck.

·
Registered
1,917 Posts
Yes - learn to do it all yourself.

As shown in the video, be very careful to install the oil filter correctly. Even "Mechanics" have screwed that up.

There have been many many instances of professional mechanics making mistakes with basic service. You need to learn to do it all yourself. There are too many basic maintenance items that need to be done or checked regularly to be taking it to a shop all the time.