Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today was the first day I chose not to ride because I was too uncomfortable in my current gear this cold, rainy morning. I had to turn back 2 minutes after I started riding because my hands were going numb. I am looking at buying some new gear for the winter, and to keep me dry. I need to be warm and dry for 90 minutes, at speeds at or below 55 mph, when the temps are at or above freezing.

What gear would you guys recommend for such conditions, and what tips can you give about staying warm in the winter? I plan to ride until the first sign of ice/snow. Then it will be the safe, warm but boring truck until the roads are safe.

·
Registered
619 Posts
I got the Icon patrol jacket and it is very warm on it's own, highly recommended. But I put the first gear heated jacket liner underneath and all I can say is wow, sublime, changes the whole experience. It's a lot of money but it keeps you riding and you get there warm, it's kinda weird.

I'm sold on the heated gear. I also got the glove liners and some Icon patrol gloves that were only $75. I haven't tried the glove liners yet, but wish I had put them on after about 40 minutes at night 54f, highway speeds. If they are not enough then the rainoff over gloves should add a bit more ability.
Rain Off Gloves: Farkle Masters

·
Registered
329 Posts
Today I will try my gear! It's been rainy all day and I get off from job at midnight...
can't totally wait to see if my crappy overpants will work!

·
Registered
795 Posts
I'd make sure that whatever jacket you get has a hood that goes under your helmet, so water won't drip down your back. Also, waterproof boots with GoreTex liners are a must, and a baclava that covers your neck to keep the cold draft out. Check your faceshield to see if the anti fog coating still works.