Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
636 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been riding for a few months now and tonight was experimenting with counter steering on a back road at about 45mph.. its an amazing phenomenom! I saw some vids on you tube about it.. the bike reacts quickly and smoothly even at 45-50mph, very cool..:D

·
Registered
999 Posts
Sweet.
Keep it up. Keep practicing counter steering until it's programmed into body memory and becomes second nature.

This is in my opinion the #1 most important skill to have. It can save your life if you ever enter a corner a little too hot.

i.e. sharp left corner comes up fast. Rider who doesn't know how to counter steer panics and leans left but pushers the bars to left (pressure on right bar, pulling on left bar) and instead of turning, goes straight and right into the ditch.

Rider who knows how to counter steer leans left pushes on the left bar and pitches into the corner and comes out smelling like a rose.

·
Registered
636 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
at first when i heard about counter steering i was a little leary i will admit, but now that i tried and felt how the bike reacted, im a total believer..i did take a turn tonight just to see how it felt and gave it a little left hand pressure while taking the curve.. it felt very responsive to the small amount of pressure i applied...very cool. i will be out practicing again tomorrow..

·
Registered
319 Posts
How do you ride above 30kmh with out counter steering? Seriously!

·
Registered
4,996 Posts
Do they not have compulsory rider training in the US?

·
Registered
46 Posts