Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the whole motorcycle thing, but have been a Honda guy since I could drive. I'm very excited to get my first moto this Friday! I went in to the dealership (Woods Fun Center) in Austin, TX to look around at the bike and got everything straightened away, and the manager told me about the 3 year warranty they offer but for $800. I was wondering if this is worth it (I plan on using this bike a lot, commuting about 52 miles round trip to campus and work). I was also curious if there is any sort of factory warranty that comes with all new CBR250rs. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
the factory warranty is for 12 months from the day you drive away with your cbr...my slealership tried to sell me the extended warranty for $750..when i declined she offered it to me for their cost of $500...you have until the end of the one year factory warranty to purchase the extended..so you dont have to do it right off the bat if you dont want to..ive decided not to get it at all....and your dealer is trying to make 300 quick dollars off you...if you decide you want it..try to get it for "cost" from them

·
Registered
230 Posts
Not sure about your dealer but mine offered me a long term warranty for $400ish if I bought it that day -or- 600ish if I bought it within the year. He tells me that if I do extend the factory one and have no claims that I get back all that I paid for the extended at the end of the warranty. I figured that if the bike started to have issues in the first year I would extend it but if it was rock solid I wouldn't.

·
Registered
1,551 Posts