Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all!

Been lurking here for a bit, reading up and learnin' myself as much as I can and such when not daily riding. Loving the bike so far. My prior bike was a SYM scooter which didn't need much in the way of maintenance and didn't have much to mod, so . . . consider me a noob to moto maintenance to some extent.

I got my CBR in . . . hmmm . . . June I think? Something like that anyway. It's now Sept. and I've noticed a fair amount of rust on the heat shield and what appears to be starting in on the chain (pics below). So, is that normal? And what's the best way to clean this stuff up? I see "do use WD-40", "don't use it". Again, I'm a noob, but am determined to learn/take good care of this bike, so . . . good pointers would be helpful!

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
4,996 Posts
Oh that chain is disgustingly dry, to the point its rusty... not good!

Chainlube every 2 tanks of fuel or so... it should always look 'Wet'

·
Banned
1,894 Posts
Chain:

Needs to be cleaned and lubed, say every 500km if you can. It's actually very quick and easy if you get a rear stand.

Raise the rear wheel off the ground with rear stand.
Start the bike and put it into first.
With one hand on the clutch and one hand cleaning the chain, spray it with a cleaner as it goes around. (I use WD-40 as a cleaner, some people say don't, but I do, only as a cleaner, not as a lube).

Letting out the clutch again hold onto the chain with a rag or old t-shirt, get your fingers into the chain rollers. Do it for a minute or so and get the wd-40 off it too.

Repeat again but with spray-on lube.

Takes 5 minutes and make a lot of difference to how it will ride/feel.

The Exhaust Cover:

I, and many others painted it. It's very easy, I had never painted anything in my life but it was so easy to do, and looked so great the second thing I ever painted was my rims. :)