Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was thinking about trading in my 2005 Impala for a 2012 Hyundai Sonata, but after looking around I decided to get a motorcycle. And from what I've read and seen on youtube I'm going to get a Honda CBR250R when I get out of Afghanistan, but I had some questions.

I have 0 riding experience, my last two wheeled Vehicle was a bicycle when I was about 12 years old, I'm 25 and buying the bike for gas milage mostly, so obviously I'm not going to be speeding around turns, etc espically since I have no experience. I'm 5'10" and roughly 160-170 pounds. I'm mostly going to be riding it on backroads in Virginia and Highways with a 55mph speed limit, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. Should I be able to pick riding up rather easilly? Should I even try it?

Also...

How much does a typical full set of gear cost? Gloves, Jackets, Pads, Helmet, etc.

Any other tips would be helpful also. Thanks!

·
Registered
43 Posts
Hmm. Riding can be fairly risky. Riding in bad weather is riskier. I have two motorcycles, but only ride for fun. Have a Toyota Tacoma for routine transport. I'd get a car.

$800-$1000 for good gear.

Get the ABS if you go for the CBR250R.

Welcome back, and thank you!

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
So I was thinking about trading in my 2005 Impala for a 2012 Hyundai Sonata, but after looking around I decided to get a motorcycle. And from what I've read and seen on youtube I'm going to get a Honda CBR250R when I get out of Afghanistan, but I had some questions.