Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased my CBR 250!! :)

Are the extended warranty and tire coverage necessary and/or worth it in your opinion. I am being offered 2 years at $650 for the extended warranty for 2 years and $395 for the tires for 5 years. I am curious as the experiences of others thus far. Since I am new to motorcycles I don't know what the normal wear and tear is on them.

·
Registered
795 Posts
I think that is steep, this is where dealers make even more money. Things to consider: It's a Honda and if you keep its maintenance up to date you should be fine for the most part. Another factor is how long do you intend to keep the bike. I'm getting mine in a week and don't plan to get extended coverage, just a personal preference. Whatever you do read the fine print, dealers will "exagerate" coverage and service to get you to sign. Good luck.

·
Registered
71 Posts
I declined the extended warranty for mine. I really think that I will not be staying on a 250 for 5 years. I love the bike but to be honest would really like a little more power for highway driving. It can do highways but I'm not as comfortable with the ability to get out of the way of traffic if I really need to...

·
Registered
681 Posts
I passed on the extended warranty too. Anything that's likely to go wrong with it is going to show itself in the first year anyway.

·
745 Posts
Extended warranties are easy income for the dealers. However, if you do want it for peace of mind, bargin - You can ususally get 25% or more off the asking price of the plan if you shrug a lot.

·
Registered
576 Posts
i got the 5yr extended for 350 but paid cash for everything.
i planned on keeping it for awhile,and it;s transferable
if i sell it which is highly unlikely because i like it better
everyday:D
that 2yr for 650 along with the tire coverage
i would have taken as an insult after getting the bike.