Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
:(

Ok. I am a total beginner, never been on a bike before, period! Although I drive a standard shift car, I had no idea how the gears operate on the bike and did not take my new CBR out for practice anywhere.

Last night I scored a 98 on the written test. It was pretty much logic and rather easy, but yes I learned some things.

So this morning is Day 1 on the bikes. There were six of us on the range. Three experienced riders and 3 beginners. Well us three beginners did not make it past today for different reasons.

This was an all Harley group, nice people, but they were currently riding on the streets.

First guy was OK on the bike, he was just slow moving and holding us back a little. Second lady in her 50's dropped the bike by grabbing to much front brake in a turn headed for a curb. She was OK, but they asked her to stop.

Then there was me. I completed eight of the nine skills, but was having trouble on the last one where you have to shift through third gear headed for a turn, then down to second. I kept getting close to the slower person in front of me which lugged the bike in third and I had to keep downshifting back to second to slow the pace and then back to third until I started getting confused so I pulled off the course and said I needed to regroup my thoughts to continue; then went back out and completed the exercise.

Instructor said that shifting to third in a turn is too important a skill for me to have trouble with.

I am kinda bummed, but I learned a lot and it was my first time on a motorcycle and I loved it!

So I gotta rethink this and decide if I should take my CBR out in the parking lot behind my place to practice, or just re-sign up for the MSF. Instructor said I could skip the written class and just retake the range and can probable do it for free.