Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I'm not a master mechanic but holy cow! What gives with the front fender assembly? I was going to remove it to paint it Spencer Blue (I have the tricolor and the red fender is just bugging' me!) and the Allen head bolts are easy enough to remove. But what gives with the rearmost nuts and bolt assembly? Heavy duty assembly to hold the reflectors on? Hard to get a good purchase on the inboard and outboard bolts, and even with the appropriate tools the nuts are already stripping.

So - I'm either painting the front fender in place (probably not that big a deal after the newspaper and masking tape go into place) or I'm going to vise-grip the bolts and replace them after painting.

Just had to vent - wonder if anyone else has had this same problem?

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
and apparently the "delete thread" option is not available to me....so here's hoping some nice moderator / admin person will delete the other two identical threads I started in error here!

·
Super Moderator
6,949 Posts
I bought a extra front fender ($14.90 @ cyclepartsnation.com) to repaint Blue as well. Strange that those bolts were that difficult to remove. I guess I'll find out when I go to swap the fenders out. Thanks for the heads up.

·
Registered
501 Posts
Yep mine were really hard to get off also. Based on the bolts ive removed on my cbr. i'm going to have to say not all there torque wrenches were working correctly. some loose some overly tight.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
glad to know it's not just me.

Motomike, you had mentioned the blue fender a while ago....I'm thinking I'm going to leave it in place and paint it. If it were a larger piece I'd really want to remove it, but as it's a pretty limited part, and by the looks of it easy to mask off from the rest, I think i'll just leave it in place.