Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, first time poster and mechanical noob here - as per usual I suppose.

I have an 88 MC19 with supposedly 21000km on the odometer.

The other day, as I was pulling into my father's street, I felt the bike lose power as I was riding up a slight hill. As I was pulling into his driveway, the bike died completely. It would start again with the choke on but would die as soon as I tried to disengage the choke. For reference the bike idles at about 4000RPM with the choke out (too high I know).

When I went to start the bike a few hours later, after enjoying a nice chicken parmy and a beer, the bike wouldn't start at all.

I went back a few days later and then the bike started an ran for about five mins, although it sounded somewhat sputtery, before it died.

I guess my question is, what's the best trouble shooting process to go through? My uneducated guess is fuel filter, fuel pump then carbs but I'm not really sure how to assess the condition of any of these things.

Thank you guys in advance so much. If I keep my mechanic out of this one then that would be great.

· Registered
Honda: INNOVA125i(2010); CBR250R(2013)
1,010 Posts
Hi. The troubleshooting scheme is not specific to a particular model and is common to all motorcycles... almost... for example: Our motorcycle has no carburetor, yours has four carburetors.
Just please if you have no prior experience in mechanics, if you don't have the necessary time etc', please go to the nearest mechanic in your area. This is the fastest and safest way to treat your problem.
And let's start with the simple things:
  1. Check that the oil level is correct
  2. Check if there is fuel in the tank, move the fuel petcock to reserve position.
  3. If there is no fuel in the tank...You already know what to do.