Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie (almost 800 miles on the bike now) who has never been a nervous nellie about gettin on the freeway, but I do find that the bike's reduced turning abilities at high speed take some getting use to. I am still somewhat on edge while entering freeway interchanges that require turns at 65 or so, and find myself slowing down and being unwilling to lean enough out of concern of a catastrophic loss of traction. Also wondering about tips for evasive maneuvers at freeway speeds when encountering debris, especially at night when long-range visibility is reduced. I don't we're gonna go over that in the parking lot course I'm scheduled to take next month. Any advice from you veterans would be appreciated.

Happy riding.

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

·
Registered
149 Posts
Countersteering my friend. Also, keep your head up and LOOK where you want to go. If you're turning left, turn your head and look at your exit point and the bike will follow.

When it comes to avoiding debris it's the same concept as countersteering. Push left then quickly push right, etc.

Also; take a motorcycle safety course, well worth it.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Another thing you will learn; if you enter a turn too hot don't let off the throttle, generally speaking it's better to give it a bit more gas. The rear tire will grab and ride on trough. Even this bike can be ridden harder and faster then most of us ever will.

Don't leave your comfort zone too soon. If your riding with stronger riders and they are carving the twisties faster then you're comfortable with hang back and take em at your own pace.

And seriously, find a motorcycle safety course and take it, little later on take the advanced course.

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
Slow, Look, Press, Roll.

NEVER slow while in the curve. It'll send your ass right into the guardrail.

·
Registered
210 Posts