Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
how often do you guys recommend i change my oil? im trying to figure out what would be my yearly maintenance cost on the cbr when i pick one up.

·
Registered
12 Posts
I wouldn't exactly use the factory recommendation. But instead use it just as a guide. Basically the harder you push your engine the sooner you should do the oil change

·
Premium Member
147 Posts
Me - every 4,000 miles, but at least once a season and once at 600. Like CBR-guy says though, you have to make your own decisions based on your riding and conditions. Of course, you could also get into things like oil analysis, but I'm just going with what I have stated here. Might change after I have a talk with a trusted guy I know who wrenches Hondas for a living.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks guys!!! ill definitely take those into consideration!! now all i need to do is learn how to do the oil changes myself. lol

·
Registered
1,773 Posts
It depends on the conditions and especially how long you ride.

Starting and riding for a short distance requires more frequent oil changes than extended trips. The main thing you are fighting is contaminants and the degradation of the additive package in the oil. When you start-up an engine you are adding moisture, acids, and unburned fuel to the oil. Most of it burns-off when the oil reaches a high enough temp for a long enough period. Water temp (aka engine temp) and oil temp are not the same thing. It takes significantly more time for the oil to come up to its operating temp than it does for the coolant to come up to its operating temp. It's when you don't allow the oil to get up to that temp (short trips) that the contaminants build-up. Cold temps make it worse.