Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm pretty sure that this has been posted a million times, but I would like those who know the "Know How" to give me answers for my specific case, or if its hopeless.

I'm 20, going to school, male, and living in UT, USA. I would love to get my Honda CBR250r ABS, but for one thing. I can't find an affordable Insurance! Please help! I have a clean driving record, this would be my first street bike (plenty of trail) I seem to have checked everywhere, but no success on a reasonable price. Any ideas, tricks, and such that would help? Thanks, and let me know.

·
Registered
1,503 Posts
I've been an insurance agent since 1982. There are no easy answers for you. To start with, and to be blunt, if you can't find affordable insurance, you need to rethink purchasing a bike. But here are a few things you should consider:

- do you have a parent who has a bike? If so, and if your legal residence is at home, then you may be able to add your new bike to his/her policy. If they don't have a bike, but still have an M license, they could co-sign for the bike and take the insurance out in their name, but with you listed as a driver.

- Look to the agent who insures your cars or your parents' cars. There can be discounts.

- Look for an independent insurance agent, but one who represents Progressive and/or Dairyland. Independent agents have several companies from which to choose. State Farm is just State Farm

- Take the MSF course and make sure your agent knows that you did.

- Make sure that the agent knows where you've lived for the past 5 years, if you've moved from place to place. Or give them your soc. sec #. You need to make sure that they can get an insurance score on you (which includes credit, at least in most states)

- If you need to have coverage for the damage to your bike (and you probably will need this based upon your comments), then consider high deductibles