Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a total noob, never done anything like this but it seems easy enough. The pipe came with instructions but I figured since some of you had experience with it I could ask here for help.

Do I really need some fancy torque wrench? If so where can I get a cheap one? Any other tips or advice?

Thanks!

·
Registered
455 Posts
don't worry about a torque wrench. Most likely you will strip the bolt trying to figure it out. Just make sure you have a good set of sockets. Metric.remember to use the anti seize stuff on the bolts that should have came with the pipe. Pay attention to everything when your taking it apart and watch out for the weight of the stock muffler when pulling it off. Its heavier than it looks. Catches you off guard.
Good luck.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I got the stainless steel slip on. Maybe it's best if I install the silencer it comes with.

I saw it requires a drill, don't have that either. Going to get pricey just to install the **** thing, LOL.

·
Registered
319 Posts
It take TWO bolts to install the slip on

Undo the nut on the clamp down near the underbelly pan,

Undo the bolt on the exhaust hanger / foot peg

Twist and pull

Install new one the opposite way.

Note, You may have to remove the packing left on the header pipe, Im personally not sure, I installed a full system on my bike.

·
Registered
879 Posts
I got the stainless steel slip on. Maybe it's best if I install the silencer it comes with.

I saw it requires a drill, don't have that either. Going to get pricey just to install the **** thing, LOL.
Its a easy job and even with the silencer in its still loud. Getting the silencer in the end of the pipe actually the hardest part of the installation. The fit was to tight had to do a little grinding and sanding to get it to go in.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #9