Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently joined this forum. I am from India specifically Pune, Maharashtra. Techie by profession.
I got a preowned 2011 C-ABS CBR250R that has done 36k KMs.
I call her "Red Queen".
The decision to buy this bike was an impromptu one more like heart over mind. I will be using this thread to post regular updates on red queen.

The previous owner had done the basic service of oil, oil filter, disc pads and coolant topup before handing it over to me.

I rode the bike almost 125miles or 200kms to my place. The bike accelerated with two people on-board as expected and I was able to maintain decent speeds 80-90kmph. It returns somewhere around 32-35kmpl fuel economy.

There were some initial observations/issues/niggles as below,

1. Front brake response is not quite upto the mark. May be the new pads need to bed in or it can be issue with master cylinder.
2. The radiator fan does not starts on its own causing the bike to heat up in bumper to bumper traffic. At cruising speed the temp hardly rises above 3 bars.
3. The ignition lock has got some free play and rotates a full 360 degree if you just insert the key slightly and try to rotate it. It works as expected on full key insertion.
4. The seats have hardened. Might need cover or cushion replacement.
5. Tyres needs to be upgraded.
6. Will be putting in stock indicators/blinkers back on. The rear one are broken and front is some aftermarket flush sitting one which I dont like.
7. Some cone set issues are there.
8. Rapid downshift from higher gears sometimes does not happens. I have to step down gears sequentially. Like "6th gear down-clutch release-clutch in-5th gear down-clutch release-...". There are no issues in upshifting though.
9. False neutral might occur sometime.
10. A broken body panel. (The one between tank and the big fairing)