Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I've been lurking for a week or two and finally registered. My name's Dylan. :)

I don't have a bike, nor have I ever rode one. I'm just about to turn 18, and I'm going to wait about 6-9 months after I do before I get one (so that I can wait until I establish a good credit score).

I'm going to get a 2012 CBR 250R tri-color with ABS. Figure that since I'll be a completely new rider, I should go ahead and dish out the extra $500 for ABS.
I'm going to take the MSF course before I go ahead and buy it; california law to take it before you can get your license anyways.

·
Super Moderator
6,949 Posts
Hey Dylan,
I just joined the forum today myself, although I've been riding for over 40 years now. I'm sure you'll hear this from others as well... I'd recommend finding an inexpensive used bike as a first/starter bike. Something you could save up and pay cash for. A bike that when you drop it... and you will drop it... you won't feel too bad about the new scratches and dents on your old bike. IMO financing a bike is generally a bad idea, but is a really bad idea for a new, young rider who ultimately needs to get max seat time at min cost. I was about your age when I bought my first road legal bike, a Kawasaki F7 dual-purpose bike, but before that happened I had 10 years of off-road experience under my belt. An older street legal duel-sport, like a Honda XL/XR 125 or 250 would be an ideal bike to learn on, and have a lot of fun riding. These bikes can be had for as little as $800 to $1200 on Craigslist.