Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi i just bought a 2013 honda cbr250r from a friend of mine he pressure washed it now it has no spark has been sitting for a few months now untuched till i got it he got a used coil but may have hooked it up wrong any one can help would be greatly Appreciated

· Registered
Honda: INNOVA125i(2010); CBR250R(2013)
1,075 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Sorry but, It is difficult here in the forum to give answers to complex problems. Troubleshooting is one of the things that requires the most knowledge and experience, the technical literature does not always have all the answers. I'm personally a fan of mechanics, it's not my profession, I'm also a student here. It will be easier for me to help you if you focus me on a certain question?

For example:
You ask how do you check that the coil is working good? Or what electrical wires goes to where at the coil terminals (which color wire connects to where)?

Of course I don't know you, but maybe this tip will help:
Your progress in solving your problem depends on your abilities, your budget, and the free time you have. Otherwise, it is better to contact a qualified mechanic in your area (This is usually the cheapest and fastest solution).

· Registered
1,075 Posts
does any one know what wire goes where and what the coil shuld ohm out to i will start there
I suggest you check the battery first. It often happens with amateur mechanics, it happened to me too, that they neglect the battery test, then start chasing a problem that doesn't exist and replace parts without it being necessary.
All three battery tests are performed on the battery terminals with a voltmeter:
  1. The voltage after charging should not drop below 12.7V.
  2. Measure volt drop when starting, and the voltage should not drop below 10V.
  3. And if the engine starts, then measure voltage at idle rpm and it should be ~13.9V.