Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Banned
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I thought it would be fun to show off previous bikes for those of us who have had them. I've been riding for 5 years and I have had as many bikes in that amount of time.

The first motorcycle (that wasn't a scooter and had a clutch) that I owned was a Honda Phantom 200cc. I had no idea how to ride a motorcycle with a clutch but bought one anyway. I went to the Honda shop with my wife, paid for the bike, and asked for a quick lesson. One of the mechanics explained (in Thai) the mechanics of the clutch while my wife translated. I decided that it would not be safe for me to ride that day as the shop was on a very busy road in a pretty big city. The mechanic drove me home while I sat on the back :)

I downloaded some Youtube videos and did my best to learn how to ride. There were no riding lessons available (Thais grow up with motorcycles) where I lived, especially not in English!

I also remember 2 other incidents that were scary/embarrassing. One incident was when my wife and I were stopped at a red light on a major road and the light changed to green. We were stopped in front with the other scooters and motorcycles of a long line of cars. It was the perfect time to stall! All the motorcycles/scooters took off and there we were holding up hundreds of cars! My wife was yelling in my ear. Priceless!

Another incident was after I (sorta) learned how to ride and I was on my way to work. I wanted to make a Uturn (I can't remember why) so I pulled in the clutch and drifted (stupidly) in an arch until eventually the bike's weight pulled me to the road. A woman with a little shop at the side of the road came running to help me pull the bike up! I thanked her profusely with a red face inside my helmet. :)