Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Heys, I just installed a r&g tidy tail on my cbr250 and went head and got their micro indicators and resistors as well. Anyways I plug it all in and "tick" there goes a fuse, I'm like **** check my wiring again looks ok, and pop goes another fuse, I'm scratching my head as to wtf is happening, I triple check it and reset everything and pop there goes another, I'm getting really annoyed at this point, have to go out and buy more fuses....

Any ways I isolate all the parts and let them hang loose, and it's all working... Put it back on the frame and pop goes another fuse. The bolt of the micro indicator was shorting on the tidy tail(made of metal). Wtf. So I insulated the bolt and nut and now it works, kinda....

Even with R&Gs resistors installed it still blinks fast, yup.....

I'm a noob at wiring but still.... That just sucks.

·
Registered
319 Posts
How did you wire them up?

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the resistors in parallel with the indicators one resistor each side. So one end goes to the ground cable, the other into the power.

I cant understand why the fuse pops when the indicators are bolted into the tidy tail, is the indicator grounded to its own bolt? is that supposed to happen?

I have it blinking fast at the moment, my concern is if it rains on the indicator it will pop another fuse....

·
Registered
319 Posts
Did you remember to cover up all the bullet joins,seems you wired them correctly.

they share a ground, and then one power wire each side.

The bolt shouldn't be live, maybe the wire is shorting to the bolt. try a multimeter across the bolt, or look in it for any crap on the inside shorting it out

·
Registered
64 Posts
Series, not parallel

I have the resistors in parallel with the indicators one resistor each side.