Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am new to street riding but have been an avid dirt bike rider for about 7 years. I will be taking an instruction class very soon, and I just want some of your opinions on a good, reliable first bike. My local dealer has a 2010 CBR250R, with around 1000 miles. What would be a good price to pay for this bike? Should I go with something that is maybe a little older, or would this bike be perfect? I appreciate any feedback from you guys!!

·
Premium Member
147 Posts
I think it is a good bike for a new street rider. (some caveats to follow) It's also good for old heads like me. I've been riding for 35+ years and like you, started in dirt.

Have you sat on the bike? Are you comfortable on it? Some people prefer cruisers like the Rebel or a more standard position (Like a Suzuki TU250X)

What type and distance do you plan to ride? Are you carrying gear?

Do you think you'll want to do some dirt? Is a Dual Purpose a better choice?

I decided to buy the CBR because of what I read, the type of riding I plan to do, the fact that I just liked it, and I wanted to buy from the local dealer (who sells Hondas)

If you sat on it, feel comfortable, and think it's the bike for you, I'd agree that it's a great bike for a first time street rider. Around here, It might sell for $3,000 - $3,500. (estimated - I only saw one used when I was looking)

·
Registered
2,097 Posts
For your first bike an older used one without a lot of bodywork is a good idea IMO.

I also recommend never financing a cycle, especially your first. Whatever you buy, make sure you have money left for a full set of quality riding gear.

Jay

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·