Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,881 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, first post on here!

To tell a lil' about myself, I'm a fledgling commuting graduate student. I just started riding about 7 months ago on a Suzuki GZ250, which was my first and is, my current bike for the moment. The only thing I don't like about the bike is it's lack of power. It just doesn't have the get up and go I would feel more comfortable with in the traffic I drive in.

I wanted to stay with the 250 class for fuel economy and insurance reasons because that is why I purchased the bike in the first place. So anyone who has ridden a GZ250 in the past, could you comment on how the power and driveability compares to the CBR250r? On paper, it looks like the honda has about 6 more hp and 4 more ft. lbs. of torque, not to mention fuel injection :) I looked at the CBR for about 4 months now, but no local dealers had any. Finally found someone nearby who upgraded to a 600 and wanted to sell the CBR for only what he remained owing on it. So I can pick this bike up for around $3000, with only 750 miles on the clock. What do you guys think? A worthy upgrade worth the extra 3k, or stick with my anemic GZ250? I'm never planning on getting a bigger bike, as 250's seem to fit all my needs.

Thanks in advance! Comments and suggestions welcome (besides "get a bigger bike")! :D

·
Registered
1,881 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh, I'm sure I won't regret it. It looks like an awesome bike. I've read all the reviews and watched all the test videos, but nothing compares to riding the bike firsthand. My dealer around here won't allow test rides for whatever reason, I guess insurance costs.