Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been hanging around here for a few months, but -
I don't have a CBR250R.
It's the bike I have been considering getting next.
I have been asking questions and listening to discussions by people interested, and seemingly experienced, in the function of the bike.
I pretty much ignore the stuff about having the bike as a Barbie doll, playing dressup, and trying to look the part.

Well tomorrow, weather permitting, I will test ride a demo CBR250R and will let you know how it went. And probably more questions.
I'm not big. 5' 8 1/2", 160 lbs. Most of my bikes (a lot of them over the years) have been small or medium sized. For the last six years I have had a 1987 BMW (1000cc and 475 lbs). The trouble is that reality has struck. I am 66 and body strength is naturally, but inevitably, fading. (You young pups stop grinning!) I am just fine at speed, and can still smoke lots of riders on twisty roads, but if things got out of hand I think the 475 lb bike would win the fight. I also notice it in parking lots and muscleing it around the workshop.

So that's where I'm at with it. My guess is that I will like the bike but be disappointed with the power, however I will keep an open mind.

Attachments

·
Registered
879 Posts
Good luck with your test ride. Your thoughts will be interesting cant wait to hear your responce. I to am an older rider 58 but like you speed does not bother me I can still whip it through the curves pretty good. I like the little Honda but its just to underpowered for me. I like more power coming out of curves or entering the freeway. Passing is also a challange but thats just me

·
Registered
414 Posts
good luck and a word of warning. the first gear shift is almost imeadiate on this bike. looking forward to hearing how you got on

·
Registered
1,503 Posts