Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I've been riding my '12 250R since July 2012. It's my daily commuter and I do like it a lot. Until recently I only commuted 8 miles to work and back, but for the last 6 months my driving has jumped up to ~50 miles a day. This does include some 12 miles in the CoSal canyons, so I'm not complaining at all.
Long story short, I've been debating for some time on whether to upgrade, and more precisely on what should my next bike be. Mainly due to the fact that the 250R is kinda lightweight on the freeway, as it's absolutely great in all other circumstances.
There've been many bikes I've considered at one point or another, but I can't seem to make up my mind. My top contender would have to be the BMW F800GT, the worry there is that it might be a bit too serious/boring. I've also looked at the FZ6R and FJ-09, as well as the new Versys DL, which lately hasn't been getting very good press.
Anyway, I was wondering if any of you would have an opinion on the subject. May be upgraded and have a particular feeling about it you would like to share? I'm looking for something with a bit more power and weight, but still nimble in the twisties. Preferably not naked. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
399 Posts
The BMW looks like a good choice. Any bike is only as boring as you make it. You've said you're buying a bike for road riding not the track so screaming top end power is not really important.
If you've go the money waiting to be spent then dealers should be falling over each other to give you demo rides. Get as many as you can before parting with your cash.
Other models I'd be considering in your position: Honda CBR650F or VR800, Kawasaki ER650F Twin, Suzuki SV650.

·
Registered
273 Posts
A 2015 CBR650F? That's a long term keeper. Its just a tad wider than the 250R but just as capable on the twisties and is well sprung from factory with strong brakes.

·
Registered
5 Posts