Honda CBR 250 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering how long everyone rides the starter bike before upgrading to bigger bikes. 600 and 1k.

im already feeling the itch for a 600..... but only been on the bike like 6 weeks so far. 2300 miles and counting.....planning on waiting til winter to find my upgrade bike.

love my 250, just getting tired of getting run over by DFW traffic on freeways.

·
Super Moderator
6,949 Posts
Serious Answer: For a lot of new riders... not long enough.

Sarcastic Answer: Two or three weeks is more than enough saddle time on the CBR250R, that CBR1000RR is at the dealership just waiting for a new home.

IMO, Urban freeways are a nightmare, no matter what bike your on. Cagers are out to get you.

·
Registered
212 Posts
I'm not an expert on upgrading my 250 is my first bike. I think you should ride the 250 until you have learned all you can from it and upgrade when you feel ready. I do not think anyone else can tell you when it is the right time for you. Some day I will upgrade, but do not feel the need to do so yet..

hahah sorry for the long winded response

·
Registered
540 Posts
Depends entirely on the rider.

If you started on the 250 by your own choice, without being pressured into it when you really wanted the 600 or whatever, then you're probably mature enough to know when the right time for you is. You'll certainly know better than anyone here that doesn't know you.

·
Registered
149 Posts
If you've never been on a larger bike check and see if you have any manufacture demo days coming up. Great time to test ride and see how you feel on it. Just be careful.

·
Registered
109 Posts
A lot to consider but going from the 250 to a 600 is not really an upgrade as much as it is a different kind of bike for a different purpose.