Honda CBR 250 Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, newbie here. Have been working with my brother trying to get his bike started, have been consulting the forum (and everywhere else we can find to troubleshoot), but still no luck getting it going. Hoping someone here might have some other ideas to get it up and running again. Sorry for the long post in advance, but it seems like when troubleshooting stuff like this, the more details the better.

First, some details:
  • 2012 CBR250r (no ABS)
  • 5300 miles
  • Regularly serviced and maintained (until this last winter, more on that in a bit)
  • Has pretty much been an awesome bike since purchased new.
During winter it has generally been parked with good gas, and then started up a few times during the cold months to make sure all is continuing to work properly. Unfortunately life happened this last winter and this didn’t occur. Suspect poor quality gas was left in the tank, and it was left parked for about 5 months without being moved or started. We pulled it out this spring and have been trying to get it started since. While we’ve found and fixed various problems we’ve found along the way, wondering if there’s some underlying problem that’s causing the mess and we’ve only gotten the symptoms thus far.

Issues:
  • Fuel gage flashing flashing full bars (corrected)
  • Fuel pump not priming when turned on (corrected)
  • The bike won’t start :(
What we’ve troubleshooted/fixed (in order)
  • Drained the tank and filled with fresh, good fuel
  • Started with started fluid to confirm it’s getting a spark - it will run until the starter fluid is consumed and then dies
  • Replaced the fuel pump - it now primes when turned on (and function confirmed on a bench test)
  • Pulled the injector and cleaned/flushed (and function confirmed on a bench test).
  • Swapped the fuel sender (believe it’s formally called the “fuel unit”) - fuel gage is now functioning properly